ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 Schedule – Venue and Details

Posted by on November 18, 2014 in Cricket | 0 comments

ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 Schedule – Venue and Details

Cricket World Cup is one of the biggest sporting events across the world. The number of fans is increasing by each passing day and there are different countries who are taking part in this sport. The Cricket World Cup 2015 will see 14 teams representing 14 different countries take part in the competition.

World Cup is probably the biggest event in international cricket. It takes place once in every 4 years. Cricket’s most prestigious global tournament will return to New Zealand and Australia after 23 years, with 14 nations out to prove they are the best one-day team in the world, between 14 February and 29 March 2015. The International Cricket Council launched the 2015 Cricket World Cup on Tuesday. The 14-team tournament will be staged in Australia and New Zealand from February 14 to March 29. The match fixtures and schedule of the 2015 Cricket World Cup that is to be jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealand has been announced. The 11th ICC Cricket World Cup featuring 49 matches is scheduled to take place from February 14 February to March 29 2015. The once-in-four-year tournament will see Sri Lankan lions take on the one of the host nations New Zealand in the inaugural match of the tournament at Hagley Oval, Christchurch. Australia start their campaign against England in the second match of on the opening day at Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne.

Cricket world cup Schedule

Cricket world cup Schedule

Cricket World Cup 2015 Schedule or Fixtures of ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 and Time Table. The Schedule of ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 announced by ICC (International Cricket Council) on July 30, 2013. Generally ICC announced the schedule of Cricket World Cup almost one year before the main event so that the venue’s get enough time to prepared their stadium and other associated infrastructure before the main event starts.

All the matches of Cricket World Cup 2015 will be played in Australia and New Zealand. They will divide the number of matches between themselves. There is no official information available to us on which match will be hosted by which country. We will update the Cricket World Cup 2015 Schedule here when ICC declare the schedule.

The match fixtures of the Cricket World Cup presents a mouthwatering clash for the 2011 champions India. The opening match of the defending champions India is a dream of every die-hard cricket fans around the globe as 2011 Cricket World Cup India will clash with arch rivals Pakistan on a Sunday, February 15th blockbuster. India had previously defeated Sri Lanka to claim their second World Cup title in 2011 in India, when they hosted the tournament.

The ICC World Cup 2015 that is co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand will see a total matches of 49 played with total number of 14 nations participating. This edition of 2015 World Cup is said to be one of the biggest tournament taking place in the sporting world. The 49 matches will be played in 14 venues with Australia staging 26 games at grounds in Adelaide, Brisbane, Canberra, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney while New Zealand hosting 23 games in seven cities, including Auckland, Christchurch, Dunedin, Hamilton, Napier, Nelson and Wellington. The final match of the tournament will take place at the Melbourne Cricket Ground for which they have relaid the stadium turf and developing a new by the finals.

The 14 nations have been divided into two groups – Pool A and Pool B. In the Pool A, the teams are England, Australia, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, New Zealand, Afghanistan and Scotland while Pool B features South Africa, India, Pakistan, West Indies, Zimbabwe, Ireland and United States of Emirates. The group matches are to be scheduled to be played till March 15.

Below is the full list of fixtures for the event:

ICC World Cup 2015 Schedule

Pool A: England, Australia (co-host), Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, New Zealand (co-host), Qualifier 2 (TBD), Qualifier 3 (TBD)
Pool B: South Africa, India, Pakistan, West Indies, Zimbabwe, Qualifier 1 (Ireland), Qualifier 4 (TBD)
Saturday 14 February –Sri Lanka v New Zealand , Hagley Oval, Christchurch (day); England v Australia , Melbourne Cricket Ground (day/night)
Sunday 15 Feb – South Africa v Zimbabwe, Seddon Park, Hamilton (d/n); India v Pakistan, Adelaide Oval (d/n)
Monday 16 Feb – West Indies v Ireland, Saxton Oval, Nelson (d)


Tuesday 24 March – First semi-final, Eden Park, Auckland (d/n)
Wednesday 25 March – Reserve day for first semi-final
Thursday 26 March – Second semi-final, SCG, Sydney (d/n)
Friday 27 March – Reserve day for second semi-final
Saturday 28 March – Rest day
Sunday 29 March – Final, MCG, Melbourne (d/n)
Monday 30 March – Reserve day for final
Quarter-final line-up (If Australia and New Zealand qualify, then they’ll play their quarter-finals in their countries. As such, final line-up, venues and dates to be confirmed after group stage matches): A1 v B4 A2 v B3 A3 v B2 A4 v B1
Semi-finals – If Australia and New Zealand meet in semi-finals, then the side that finished higher in the group stage points table will stage the match.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.